Exchange Scholar Program

The Ivy Plus Exchange Scholar Program enables Columbia doctoral students in Arts and Sciences departments to take courses and/or conduct research for one or two semesters at one of the following graduate schools, in order to take advantage of particular educational opportunities not available at Columbia:

  • Brown University
  • University of California at Berkeley
  • University of Chicago
  • Cornell University
  • Harvard University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • Princeton University
  • Stanford University
  • Yale University

Permission from the department and the Office of the Dean is required to participate. To be eligible, doctoral students in the Arts and Sciences must be in their funded years, but not in their first year in the program or expected to be on a Teaching Fellowship during the year under consideration. Typically, students on GSAS funding participate in the Exchange Scholar program while on their dissertation fellowship.

Columbia students who wish to study at one of the institutions above should download and complete a paper Exchange Scholar Application. For additional information, contact [email protected].

Non-Columbia students who wish to study at Columbia: Please submit the Ivy Plus Exchange Scholars application to the administrative contact (listed on pages 7-9 of the application) at your home institution. The application will then be sent to Columbia for review. Please note that Ivy Plus Exchange participants are only permitted to enroll in courses offered within the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences programs. They cannot participate in other exchanges or consortium agreements as Columbia University students through the Graduate School.