Fourteen GSAS Students Awarded 2018 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

January 01, 2018
low library

The National Science Foundation has named fourteen current PhD students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences as 2018 Graduate Research Fellows. The highly competitive fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based degrees at accredited United States institutions.

The awardees from GSAS are:

  • Palani Akana (Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology)
  • Chelsea Harmon (Psychology)
  • Carla Hoge (Biological Sciences)
  • Tyler Janoski (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Tiffany Jansen (Astronomy)
  • Kiley Kennedy (Physics)
  • Corey Lesk (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Lizhi Liu (Biological Sciences)
  • Moiya McTier (Astronomy)
  • Athena Nghiem (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Andrew Olenski (Economics)
  • Iden Sapse (Biological Sciences)
  • William Henry Towbin (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Bryan Wang (Biological Sciences)

Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited US institution of graduate education they choose.

To learn more about the program, click here.